Welcome To The Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board

Due to COVID-19 and the high volume of applications, processing times may be longer than usual.  Thank you for your patience and understanding during this very busy time.

RECENT INFORMATION REGARDING RENEWAL OF LICENSES THAT HAVE EXPIRED DURING THE COVID 19 PANDEMIC

The 2021 Legislature enacted SB 40 which extends the State of Disaster Emergency until May 28, 2021. On April 1, 2021, the Governor released Executive Order 21-09, which extended earlier provisions from previous executive orders not to expire occupational licenses during the State of Disaster Emergency. Therefore, per SB 40 and the Governor’s Executive Order 21-09, occupational licenses which would have expired during the pandemic will not be expired through May 28, 2021, or until the statewide State of Disaster Emergency is rescinded, whichever is earlier.

If your license was set to expire 03-31-20 thru 04-30-21, you have until 05-28-21 to finalize the renewal process which includes completing the renewal application packet, completing the required number and type of Continuing Education Units for the specific license type, and paying the required renewal fee. The expiration date of the recently renewed license will be two years from the original expiration date of the license. Example: If your license originally expired 3-31-20, the next expiration date for the license will be 3-31-22.


THE BSRB'S NEW ONLINE LICENSE RENEWAL SYSTEM IS NOW OPERATIONAL

Click Here for helpful information.

If you would like to renew by paper here is a direct link to the forms on our website: https://ksbsrb.ks.gov/forms

If you would like to renew online here is a direct link to our online renewal site:  https://licensing.ks.gov/EGOV_BSRB/PersonSearchResults.aspx 


As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Board has received this question on numerous occasions:

Does teletherapy count toward the required 1,500 hours of direct client contact needed to become clinically licensed in one of these professions;  Addiction Counseling, Marriage and Family Therapy, Master’s Level Psychology, Professional Counseling, or Social Work?

Upon reviewing the Kansas Tele-medicine Act, as well as the statutes and regulations governing the clinical licensure requirements, and consulting with legal counsel, the board has determined that the term “client contact” includes face to face therapy whether in person or by other electronic means.  Therefore, client contact via teletherapy may be used toward the accrual of the 1,500-hour requirement of direct client contact when working toward the clinical level of licensure. 

However, services by telephonic conferencing may not be counted toward the 1,500-hour requirement of direct client contact as telephonic conferencing does not meet the face-to-face requirement.



We are pleased to offer access to our laws, rules, disciplinary actions, roster of licensees, and other useful information for professionals and consumers. We hope you will visit the site often to update and refresh your understanding of the various levels of our licensed professionals and standards of practice.

The Board and staff welcome your input, comments, concerns, and suggestions by letter, telephone, email, or fax. We want to hear from you on all issues of concern to you as a consumer or provider. If you hope to become licensed in Kansas, we welcome you! We hope to facilitate a smooth transition from student to licensed professional.


Upcoming Events

Announcements


Important Notice: There have been changes to the postgraduate supervised clinical experience requirements for LSCSW.

Please click on this link for information regarding these changes.


Get Involved!

K-Serv
Be an emergency volunteer!
Register for KServ